WBC, Day 5 continued: John’s Perspective

Well, it is 11:00 and I am sitting on the bed in our hotel room, chomping on a few Wheat Thins and looking back over the day. It was great fun! After Here I Stand, I bought the guys from my semifinals game a round of beer (oh, I will miss Yuengling back in MN), and then some of us settled in for a quick demo/pickup game of Conquest of Paradise. The designer, Kevin McPartland, came over and introduced us all to it, which was gracious of him. He has an immense enthusiasm for what the Polynesian people have done throughout history. This is a two to four-player game. It’s published by GMT, which is odd; it feels like a civilization-building type game, which is very out of character for them. After one play, I am impressed by the marriage of theme and mechanics, though the game feels a bit too short to me. Just as you are done exploring and are busy building up an army, it ends!

After we wrapped up, I got in a three-player game of Small World with Ted from the Here I Stand semi-finals and Tim, a random guy we met in the open gaming room. This was followed by another game with Russ and Noah. And this is when I snapped my eleven game losing streak! I don’t care if Russ had never played the game before and if Noah was ten years old. It doesn’t matter. I won.

I also managed to get in a demo of Dominion: Intrigue, a nifty little card game that feels collectible, but isn’t. It’s a fun brain-puzzler sort of game. You have to purchase cards and build a deck to amass victory points.

Later in the afternoon, Russ and I headed over to a conference room for a one-hour look at Virgin Queen, the “sequel” to Here I Stand. I’ll have a whole post on this in the near future, but suffice to say that it looks like it’s coming along nicely and will (once again) set a new standard for what can be done with card-driven games.

In the evening, we met up with Dennis from the Here I Stand tournament and Battlestar Galactica demo and created a team for the Wits & Wagers game show. I’d guess about 60+ people showed up, and there was a lot of good-natured heckling. I appreciated the chance to blow off a little steam and learn insane bits of trivia like…how many US states allow marriage between first cousins. (That’s sixteen, by the way. Land of the free and home of the…shrinking gene pool?) That got out around 9:30 PM, so we headed to open gaming for one! last! game! It ended up being…Small World. It’s a fun, light little game that doesn’t take a lot of brainpower. And after 12 hours of gaming, you’re no good for anything else.

Today went so well that we decided to essentially end on a high note. We’re sleeping in tomorrow, and will be taking one last lap around the vendors’ hall before heading out. More reflections on the WBC as a whole later on.

3 Responses to WBC, Day 5 continued: John’s Perspective

  1. Joe says:

    My brothers and I set up and played a turn of successors yesterday . . . the game seems VERY promising. It’s very tense because you never feel safe.

    The great thing about it, like Twilight Struggle, or Here I Stand, is that you always feel like you have extremely tough choices for strategy, and you never feel like you have enough resources, so you really have to choose your path carefully, all the while keeping tabs on how many vp’s your opponents could add.

    I LOVE the battle mechanic. A defeated army loses all mercenaries and elephants. It will also may or may not lose macedonian troops(die role). Stalemates seem extremely rare. Generals can die, even in victory, which can really sway the balance of power.

    Sieges are COOL. You role once per turn during the “surrender phase” but may spend movement points for additional roles during the tyche and movement phase. So if you focus your effort (simulating assaults)and spend serious resources, which can allow you to finish a siege of a major city in the one or two rounds. Or you can use no additional resources, (just make rolls during the surrender phase) and it make take a while, which would simulate going the starvation/plague route.

  2. John says:

    Sounds awesome!

  3. TED! says:

    I’m with you on the Yuengling, I can’t figure out why you can’t get it west of PA. And thanks for introducing me to Smallworld, it was fun.

